Volkswagen leaders in IRC 1600 category at Rally Chikmagalur


Volkswagen leaders in IRC 1600 category at Rally Chikmagalur

FMSCI IRC Coffee Day Rally, Chikmagalur hosts the final round of FIA Asia Cup

Fast cars, dirt roads and scenic locations - a nirvana for rally enthusiasts, all this and more was in store at the Rally Chikmagalur which was also the final round of the Asia Cup, the Asian division of the FIA Asia- Pacific Rally Championship as India bids to host a full round in 2016.

Lohitt Urs and his co-driver Shrikanth Gowda driving the Mitsubishi Evo VIII took top honours in Asia Cup while Satyan Kochar and co-driver Amit Wagchoure secured the second position in a Volkswagen Polo rally car.

In the IRC finale, Urs arrived in Chikmagalur with a sizeable lead in the standings with two victories in three rounds, while Gill was nowhere in the title fight, having drawn a blank in the previous two rounds in Coimbatore and Bangalore.

For Team Yokohama, it was double glee as Bengaluru pair of Rahul Kanthraj and his co-driver Vivek Bhatt driving a Cedia came out on top in the IRC 2000 class and also sealed the championship in their category, as did Karna Kadur and his co-driver Vivek Ponnusamy driving a Volkswagen Polo in the IRC 1600 category.

For Kanthraj who completed a clean sweep by winning all the four IRC rounds, this round was not difficult as well whereas, Kadur was a bit lucky as overnight leader Dean Mascarenhas with his co-driver Shanmuga SN received a one-minute penalty for early check-in at a Time Control and thus finished second.

Also, IRC 1600 championship leader Dr Bikku Babu retired on Saturday and it paved the way for Kadur's triumph. “Not the way I wanted to win the championship with Dr Babu retiring and Dean getting a penalty which helped me. But, it is nice to win considering that we had issues with the car through the weekend,” said Kadur.

IRC (Overall): Gaurav Gill / Musa Sherif 1 (Mahindra XUV 500) 1 (02:06:18.6); Lohitt Urs / Srikanth Gowda (Mitsubishi Evo VIII) 2 (02:06:34.2); Amittrajit Ghosh / Ashwin Naik (Mahindra XUV 500) 3 (02:07:08.5).

IRC 2000: Rahul Kantharaj / Vivek Y Bhatt (Mitsubishi Cedia) 1 (02:11:16.0); Younus Ilyas / Paul Thomas (Mitsubishi Cedia) 2 (02:12:09.4); Sumit Punjabi / Shahid Salman (Mitsubishi Cedia) 3 (02:12:44.1).

IRC 1600: Karna Kadur / Vivek Ponnusamy (VW Polo) 1 (02:07:29.3); Dean Mascarenhas / Shanmuga SN (VW Polo) 2 (02:08.08.5); Bopaiah KM / Karumbaiah KS (VW Polo) 3 (02:09:58.6).

FMSCI Cup 1600: Druva Chandrasekhar / Jeevarathinam J (Honda City) 1 (02:10: 45.5); Adith KC / Harish KN (Honda City) 2 (02:12:46.5); Michu Ganapathy / Venu Ramesh Kumar (Maruti Baleno) 3 (02:15:01.4).